St Julians School


Professional Learning Grant 

Financial Year 2019/20 
Please click on this document for a detailed breakdown.  


PDG grants - use the info that is currently on this page here:


The School receives a grant from the Welsh Assembly Government to support pupils in receipt of free school meals (FSM). The key aim of the grant is to reduce the impact of poverty on educational attainment.

St Julian’s then undertake the following activities in order to support pupils facing the challenges of poverty and deprivation.

  • Literacy and Numeracy intervention

  • English and Maths support

  • Learning Coach Provision

  • Parental Engagement Programmes and initiatives

  • Supported Learning Base for Years 7 and 8 students

  • Community Engagement events

  • Various department initiatives

  • Family Support Provision

  • Sports initiatives for learners

  • More Appropriate Curriculum provision for KS4 learners

The School’s PDG grant plans are presented to and agreed annually with our Governing Body and monitored/scrutinised by the South East Wales Education Advisory Service (EAS) and the Local Authority. Spending against our agreed plan is reported regularly to the Governing Body Finance Committee. This same process also applies to our Education Improvement Grant (EIG)

Welsh Government link